Children’s Book Publishing

First, “we” (the royal “we”, I guess) got mentioned at CNN. Pretty cool, even if they didn’t quote me directly (mouthing ‘call me’ to Anderson Cooper. Yeah, yeah, I know what team he’s on. Still.)

I was on fire to write my post this morning, and I’m going to stick with my topic even if it is later and I’m TIRED gosh I’m tired; tried to nap around 5p but it did nothing to revive me. Probably thanks to my son driving his Batman car around the house. Yes, the one with the tire-squealing sound effects.

Here’s a fact you’ll learn about me around 10 minutes into meeting me, because if you ask me what I “do” I’m most likely to tell you what I “did.” I worked at a small publishing house, as a jack-of-all-trades “Associate Editor” for 4 1/2 years. Well, 2 1/2 full-time, and 2 part-time after my daughter was born. That was also right around the time the company was “traded,” to use a sports analogy (since we also did sports books), then bought out AGAIN by an even larger corporate entity less than a year later. The company went from being a small, family-run place (and not very well run, since the owner readily admitted to not being much of a “reader” — see Sports Books, above) to an international conglomerate, and all the perks like flex time and human decency (I’m looking at you, former Senior Editor who-really-doesn’t-like-titles, EYEROLL) went out the door with the owners.

The company is still limping along in some sort of boxed-in corporate tower (they moved from the quaint offices they had in a small-town above-the-storefront space two years ago), down to 3 in-office workers and an equal amount of work-from-home-in-another-state masterminds who are probably the real ones keeping the pacemaker working.

Anyway, I didn’t want to talk about my bitterness over my last “real” job (don’t get me on the SAHM soapbox) since it’s all water under the bridge now. I’m glad I was home in my children’s formative years, and truthfully, I don’t think I’d have been able to have my son while working. I am much more relaxed, laidback, “Zen” about lif,e and working for The Man no longer appeals to me.

But I learned some interesting things along the way, and I will share them with you in another post tomorrow morning, after my morning coffee kicks in. Hope that’s not too much of a cliffhanger.

Leave a Reply

