What’s the single most important thing you accomplished in 2010?

I’m drawing a blank today (not really, more on that in a sec) so I’ll answer the Daily Post suggested topic for today.

The most important thing I accomplished was writing in my daily journal. More to the point, writing down my gratitudes each day. So, you see, I CAN write everyday (okay, well…here & there I’d have to play catch-up, but never more than a week at a time, and even then that only happened once…or twice…but who’s counting?)

Another important accomplishment tied to putting my thanks in writing was finally reading my way through Simple Abundance (yes, 15 years late…). A lot of her lessons reminded me of things one of my favorite scrapbook artists/teachers, Ali Edwards, is always preaching…things like “it is okay,” “embrace imperfections,” being authentic, etc.

In honor of this latter accomplishment, I have chosen my One Little Word  for 2011. In 2009 I sort of chose “nurture,” meaning to  take care of myself, but small children and new gardens will get in the way, so I never followed through to the extent that Ali’s disciples usually do. My word(s) for 2010 might as well have been gratitude, simplicity, order, harmony, beauty, and joy — straight from Breathnach’s book.

I don’t know that I will follow through with my word this year, either, but I have at least chosen my word (or, as the disciples say, it chose me🙂 FOCUS. Something this entry could have used a little more of. But hey, it’s only January 3rd.

Leave a Reply

